Appreciative Coaching. A Positive Process for Change

  • ID: 2212561
  • Book
  • 272 Pages
  • John Wiley and Sons Ltd
1 of 4

Appreciative Coaching

Appreciative Inquiry evolved in the 1980s as a positive philosophy to guide change in organizations. The philosophy is based on the assumption that inquiry into and dialogue about strengths, successes, hopes, and dreams is itself a transformational process.

Appreciative Coaching describes an approach to coaching that is rooted in Appreciative Inquiry. At its core the Appreciative Coaching method shows individuals how to tap into (or rediscover) their own sense of wonder and excitement about their present life and future possibilities. Rather than focusing on individuals in limited or problem–oriented ways, Appreciative Coaching guides clients through four stages Discovery, Dream, Design, and Destiny that inspire them to an appreciative and empowering view of themselves and their future.

Based on the broad and varied experiences of the authors, Appreciative Coaching is filled with illustrative stories that clearly demonstrate how this method works. Appreciative Coaching weaves theory with practical, hands–on knowledge, including tools and concrete steps for incorporating this proven method into any existing coaching practice.

Using this approach, coaches will discover new ways to flourish in their practices and with their clients by affirming and recognizing a spirit of inquiry that brings forth the best in others.

Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
2 of 4
Foreword (Frank J. Barrett).



The Authors.

1. An Overview of Appreciative Coaching.

2. Positive Methods.

3. The Foundation of Appreciative Coaching Part I: The Constructionist Principle and the Positive Principle.

4. The Foundation of Appreciative Coaching Part II: The Simultaneity Principle, the Poetic Principle, and the Anticipatory Principle.

5. The Appreciative Coaching Process: Getting Started.

6. Discovery Stage: Reflecting and Celebrating.

7. Dream Stage: Articulating Potential.

8. Design Stage: Directing Attention and Action.

9. Destiny Stage: Being and Becoming.

10. Stepping into Appreciative Coaching.

A Glossary of Terms.

Appendix A: Our Research Methodology.

Appendix B: Client Information Form.

Appendix C: Coaching Prep Form.




Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
3 of 4


4 of 4

The Authors

SARA L. OREM is adjunct professor of management in the graduate programs at Capella University and principal of Lotus Coaching. She has presented programs in Appreciative Inquiry at OD Network and the Transformative Learning Conference.

JACQUELINE BINKERT is an executive coach and organization development consultant with extensive experience supporting leaders and other professionals to create positive change. She works in such industries as manufacturing, service, finance, and healthcare.

ANN L. CLANCY specializes in executive coaching, strategic planning, and organizational change, using positive methodologies to create positive change. Her clients include corporations, government agencies, community organizations, and small business.

Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
5 of 4
Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown