+353-1-416-8900REST OF WORLD
+44-20-3973-8888REST OF WORLD
1-917-300-0470EAST COAST U.S
1-800-526-8630U.S. (TOLL FREE)


Church of Lies

  • ID: 2561614
  • Book
  • 320 Pages
  • John Wiley and Sons Ltd
1 of 3

Praise for Church of Lies

"Flora Jessop′s story is raw, courageous, riveting, and a real eye–opener. Once you start reading, you can′t put it down. Church of Lies is one more compelling reason why polygamy should not be decriminalized."
John R. Llewellyn, author, Polygamy′s Rape of Rachael Strong: Protected Environment for Predators

"This is an important book that sheds light on an ultra–authoritarian secretive community in our midst. Flora Jessop spares no punches in telling her story and describing life in the FLDS, especially the hazards for women and children. But no matter how cruel and oppressive the setting, Jessop was able to break free and help others do the same. A must–read for anyone interested in children′s rights, victims′ rights, and just plain human decency."
Janja Lalich, PhD, author, Take Back Your Life: Recovering from Cults and Abusive Relationships; coauthor with Margaret Singer, Cults in Our Midst

"Risking her life, Flora Jessop has become a folk hero for her defense of countless victims of abuses perpetrated within the Fundamentalist Latter Day Saints community. Her own struggle to free herself of its constraints is remarkable; her advocacy for those who are attempting to leave is inspirational."
Dr. Stephen A. Kent, professor, Department of Sociology and Interdisciplinary Program in Religious Studies, University of Alberta

"Alternating between grit and childlike innocence, Flora Jessop′s story is both difficult to read and impossible to put down. She reveals the truth about the secret fundamentalist Mormon FLDS for all to see and skillfully exposes the real dangers that lurk within this twisted religious system."
Natalie R. Collins, author, Wives and Sisters and Behind Closed Doors

Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
2 of 3

Introduction: My Name Is Flora Jessop.

Part One: Pligville.

1. The End of Innocence.

2. Home Sweet Home.

3. The Rape.

4. The Great Escape.

5. Little Runaway.

6. The Prisoner.

Part Two: Apostate.

7. Married.

8. Gone for Good.

9. No Boundaries.

10. The End of the Road.

11. Shauna.

12. No One s Property.

13. Family.

Part Three: Outlaw.

14. Ruby.

15. Lost and Found.

16. Changes.

17. Rescuing the Fawns.

18. Running Away Again.

19. Laurene.

20. No Sympathy for the Devil.

Part Four: No More Pain.

21. Fighting On.



About the Authors.


Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
3 of 3


4 of 3
Flora Jessop
Paul T. Brown
Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown