+353-1-416-8900REST OF WORLD
+44-20-3973-8888REST OF WORLD
1-917-300-0470EAST COAST U.S
1-800-526-8630U.S. (TOLL FREE)

PRINTER FRIENDLY

Emergency Management of the Hi-Tech Patient in Acute and Critical Care. Edition No. 1

  • ID: 5214977
  • Book
  • June 2021
  • 350 Pages
  • John Wiley and Sons Ltd
1 of 3
This is the first book to offer step-by-step guidance to the management of both paediatric and adult patients in Emergency Medicine settings who have hi-tech hardware such as VP shunts, orthopaedic hardware, or prosthetic valves. Presented in easy-to-follow chapters and including plenty of algorithms and illustrations throughout, this book will allow the under-pressure emergency care provider to  make well-informed decisions rapidly.
Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
2 of 3

SECTION 1 Gastro-Intestinal devices       

1.  Using and Troubleshooting Enteral Feeding Devices   

Courtney Nelson (NelsonC5@email.chop.edu) Thane Blinman (blinman@email.chop.edu)

2.  Gastro-intestinal diversions: colostomies, ileostomies, mucous fistulas and spit fistulas              Ellen Szydlowski (SZYDLOWSKE@EMAIL.CHOP.EDU), Peter Mattei (MATTEI@EMAIL.CHOP.EDU)

3.  Management of the Bariatric Surgery Patient in the Emergency Department   Megan Lavoie (LavoieM@email.chop.edu)

4. Transjugular Intrahepatic Portosystemic Shunt               Heather House ([external URL])

SECTION 2 Central Catheters      

5.  Indwelling Central Venous Catheter Devices  Anna Weiss (WEISSAK@email.chop.edu)

6. Vascular access for hemodialysis          Sarah Fesnak (fesnaks@email.chop.edu) Xenia Morgan (morganx@email.chop.edu) Karen Merrigan (MERRIGAN@email.chop.edu) Kimberly Windt (windt@email.chop.edu)

7. Peritoneal Dialysis Catheters  Jamie Lovell ([external URL])

SECTION 3 ENT and OMFS Devices           

8.  Orthopedic Devices   Carmelle Tsai (TSAIC@EMAIL.CHOP.EDU), Andrew Tyler (andrew.tyler@uphs.upenn.edu), Kristen Lowe (LoweK1@email.chop.edu)

9.  Spine devices               "Susan Nelson (NELSONS2@EMAIL.CHOP.EDU)  Capraro, Anthony (CapraroA@email.chop.edu)

Baldwin, Keith (baldwink@email.chop.edu)"

"10.  Facial Distractors: Cranial Vault, Midface and Mandibular

                "Francesca Drake RNFA, BSN, CNOR, Phuong D. Nguyen MD

(DRAKEF@email.chop.edu) "

"11.  MANAGEMENT OF FACIAL FRACTURES IN ADULTS AND CHILDREN

"              "

Sameer Shakir MD, Phuong D. Nguyen MD

(Sameer.Shakir@uphs.upenn.edu)"

"12  Cranial Orthotics and Ear Molding

"              "

Meg Maguire, CPNP-PC, Phuong D. Nguyen, MD

(MAGUIREMA@email.chop.edu)"

13 Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT) Devices  Eva Delgado (DelgadoE2@email.chop.edu), Adva Buzi ([external URL])

"SECTION 4 CNS devices

14. Cerebral-Ventricular Shunts                                                                                                                     Panagiotis Kratimenos    (pkratimenos@gmail.com) , Chima Oluigbo (coluigbo@childrensnational.org), Angela Burd (aburd@childrensnational.org) 

15. Initial Evaluation and Management of Patients with Neurosurgical Devicess                                                                                                                                                                                           Peter J. Madsen; Chariton Moschopoulos, Benjamin C. Kennedy 

"SECTION 5 Miscellaneous devices

16. Ophthalmic Devices Marlet Bazemore (MBazemor@childrensnational.org), William Madigan (WMadigan@childrensnational.org)

17. Breast implants          R. Jason VonDerHaar, MD and Liza C. Wu, MD

18. Cutaneous delivery systems/patches                                                                                                                                                                                   Desiree   Seeyave   (DSeeyave@childrensnational.org)             

19. Dental Emergencies Involving Oral Hardware               Chisom O. A. Agbim, MD, Ioannis Koutroulis, MD, PhD, MBA

"SECTION 6 Wound management devices

20. Emergency management of patients with Negative Pressure Wound Therapy Devices (NPWTD)           David Yamane (david.yamane@gmail.com) and Tenagne Haile-Mariam( thailemariam@mfa.gwu.edu)

21. Emergency management of patients with Wound infections  "

David Yamane MD

Tenagne Haile-Miriam MD"

"SECTION 7 GU devices

22. Emergency Management of Patients with Genitourinary Prostheses  Katie Wagner, Michael Phillips, Kelly Chiles ([external URL])

SECTION 8 Cardiac devices          

23. Management of Prosthetic Valve Complications          Massoud Kazzi (mkazzi@gwumfa.onmicrosoft.com), Guenevere Burke (gburke@mfa.gwu.edu)

24. Emergency Management of Patients with Vascular Occlusion Devices, Stents, or Filters             Amy Caggiula (acaggiula!mfa.gwu.edu)

25. The ED approach to the patient with an implantable mechanical circulatory support device    Robert Shesser (rshesser@mfa.gwu.edu)

26. Emergency Management of the Patient with an Implantable Pacemaker or Defibrillator            Michael O'Neal ([external URL])

SECTION 9 Pulmonary devices   

27. Invasive Ventilation: A Discussion of Equipment and Troubleshooting                Pelton Phinizy (phinizyp@email.chop.edu), Joseph Bolton (boltonj@email.chop.edu), John Tamasitis (tamasitis@email.chop.edu)

28. Respiratory Medication Devices          Natalie Napolitano (napolitanon@email.chop.edu), James Fink (fink.jim@gmail.com)

"29. Secretion clearance devices

"              "Amanda Nickel, MSc, RRT-NPS, RRT-ACCS, Dan Dawson, RRT-NPS, Oscar H. Mayer, MD

Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
3 of 3
Nicholas Tsarouhas
Ioannis Koutroulis
Note: Product cover images may vary from those shown
Adroll
adroll